Problems of NFT games with blockchain elements Skip to content
Problems of NFT games: bans, server shutdowns and bots Cover

Problems of NFT games: bans, server shutdowns and bots

Games with the Play-to-Earn model have become one of the trends in the blockchain industry. Their users are rewarded with NFTs and cryptocurrencies for their actions on the platform. Players think that these games are decentralized because they are connected to the blockchain, but in fact, almost all the information is stored on regular servers. 

Due to the centralization and control of NFT game developers, users of NFT games face a number of problems. These include the lack of rights to accounts and their blocking, as well as shutdown of servers. We tell in the material why such difficulties arise and offer a solution to the problem of bots from the Foil Network.

Features of games with blockchain elements

Blockchain games are seen by users as decentralized platforms. But most often, developers use the blockchain only to conduct transactions with NFTs and regular tokens. And all game data is stored centrally on separate servers. 

In theory, in blockchain games, all processes must be decentralized and located on the blockchain. For example, data on all user interactions, player profiles, textures, 3D models of characters and objects should be stored there. Then developers will be able to manage games only using smart contracts, which will make all processes transparent.

In most modern blockchains, this way of storing data will be too expensive or technically impossible. For example, the gas fee on the Ethereum blockchain for downloading a file of several kilobytes will be several thousand dollars. And for a megabyte you will have to pay almost $1 million.

Comparison of games with elements on the blockchain and true blockchain games
Storing information and transferring data in games with elements on the blockchain and in “true” blockchain games

Due to the storage of all in-game information on servers, users face problems typical of centralized games. Storing data on the blockchain could solve some problems due to the transparency of smart contracts. Below we tell you more about these problems.

Players have no rights to their in-game accounts. Most users, when creating a profile, believe that they can dispose of it as they please. But all accounts are not the property of the players, but only an identifier with which a person gains access to the server. And all ownership rights to profiles belong to the developers.

This doesn’t mean that developers can get hold of your NFTs, as they are located on the blockchain. But the administration of the game can block the user’s access to the account from which the NFTs are being withdrawn at any time. For example, for violating the game’s terms of use. Then NFTs can no longer be withdrawn from the player’s account. The server will block any transactions between the account and the crypto wallet, even if it has not been linked to a game profile.

Shutting down game servers. Sometimes developers may temporarily take their servers offline due to technical issues or to work on fixing bugs. During this time, users cannot access their accounts. And if at this moment the player wants to withdraw NFT from the game to a crypto wallet, then the server will not be able to confirm this transaction. This happens due to the disabling of the interface, which should interact with the game’s smart contract, to which the crypto assets are attached.

Lack of game mechanics transparency. Users do not see the real actions of the developers and can only guess how the game balance is set up. So the administration can hide the real probability of in-game items falling out. For example, users believe in the overestimated chances that the developers have written to them and are more willing to take risks to open NFT packs. Players cannot check this probability, so they trust the administration’s words and spend more money on these packs.

Recommended Material

For those who want to know how games can be hosted completely on the blockchain. In the article we talk about two ways to achieve this. 

Bots “attack” NFT games

Developers of NFT projects also face centralization issues. For example, many NFT games are filled with bots. They prevent players from earning tokens and have a negative impact on the exchange rate of these tokens. 

Bot creators receive a constant increased profit. For example, one such program can register 1000-2000 gaming profiles. All of them will be considered a multi-account, because they belong to the same person, and this is prohibited in most games. But not all developers are able to track and block such programs on their platforms.

Bots do not need to take breaks for sleep and food, or be distracted by work and personal life. Because of this, multi-accounts will constantly mine NFTs and bring profit to their creator. And the number of tokens that real users receive will decrease. This happens because the game’s smart contract creates a fixed amount of NFTs and distributes them among all the game accounts. Because of the bots, the number of accounts is increasing, but the number of tokens is not.

New users come to the game, see the low rate of earning tokens in the game and quickly leave the project. And bots will consistently make a profit, even if each account produces a minimum of NFTs.

One of the games affected by bots is Alien Worlds. Its developers began to look for ways to prevent the work of bots:

  • The developers have temporarily suspended NFT drops until they figure out how to prevent bots. These actions caused dissatisfaction among ordinary players, because they purchased special upgrades to get these drops. And now these purchases have become useless.
  • The developers have introduced captcha for token mining into the game. These are simple pop-up tests that help weed out bots from real users. Players were unhappy with the fact that it had to be completed every time they searched for an NFT. At the same time, the bots “learned” to bypass the captcha. And ordinary players had to go through it regularly. Judging by the messages on the forum, someone had to enter captcha only a couple of times a day, and someone — every 6 minutes.
  • The developers banned all suspicious profiles before the proceedings. These included accounts that were in the game for too many hours a day, according to the developers — about 12 hours. At the same time, there is no time limit clause in the rules on the game website. 

If a player has received a ban, then Alien Worlds does not notify about this in any way. You can guess about the blocking only by the pop-up window with an error or the minimum number of tokens received. Not only bots, but also a large number of real players fell under the ban.  

screenshots of ban notifications in alien worlds
Notifications by which players can guess about the account ban

Due to the large number of complaints, the administration has opened a separate form for proceedings with support. Users had to prove in correspondence with support that they did not use third-party programs. Many had to wait for a response from the developers for days, and someone did not receive it at all, which meant that the blocking was not subject to appeal.

All the actions of the Alien Worlds developers only led to a temporary decrease in the number of bots in the game. At the same time, the new restrictions caused even more discomfort for ordinary players and only increased their dissatisfaction.

The WAX blockchain has also experienced problems due to the fact that Alien Worlds uses it. A large number of bots overloads the blockchain network and also negatively affects the cryptocurrency exchange rate. Therefore, the WAX developers have also taken action against multi-accounts. To do this, they introduced a fee for registering new users in the amount of 5 WAXP, which was approximately $1.5 at the time of the introduction of the fee.

After updating the blockchain network, the bots stopped working and registering multi-accounts. Before Alien Worlds’ massive account bans, users received a small amount of tokens per action — an average of 0.03-007 TLM. And after the update, the token mining increased to 1.1-0.5 TLM at a time.

The number of tokens mined in Alien Worlds Screenshot
The player’s earnings for sending a spaceship to the planet to mine tokens. Before the mass blocking of bots, the user received no more than 0.1 TLM per mission

Although blockchain developers have introduced a mandatory registration fee, this does not mean that the bot problem has been solved. If the profit from multi-accounts exceeds the cost of registration fees, then new bot programs will appear soon.

Verification as a way to solve the bot problem

One of the solutions to the problem of multi-accounts can be user verification. Each player will need to verify their identity using documents, in accordance with the KYC and AML policy.

NFT earnings with and without mandatory verification
n NFT games without account verification, users create bots, due to which the server is overflowing with multi-accounts. And on platforms with verification, players are required to verify the identity of each account

For example, you can create smart contracts for blockchain games on the Foil Network platform. And in order to use them, you need to pass the mandatory on-chain verification. It does not in any way force players to give up anonymity on the network and stop using nicknames. All personal data will only be accessible to an independent verification center.

It is almost impossible for one user to verify the identity of 1-2 thousand accounts to run bots. This would require obtaining and using personal data of thousands of real people, which is a violation of the law.

Recommended Material

For those who want to learn more about NFT games. In the article we tell what GameFi is on the example of 6 games.

Conclusion

Most NFT games use the blockchain technology only to make transactions with tokens and store information about them. And all other processes are located on servers that belong to the developers. Because of this, users face the following problems:

  • No rights to their in-game accounts,
  • Shutting down project servers,
  • Lack of game mechanics transparency.

Game developers also face problems, one of which is bots. The smart contract automatically distributes NFTs among all players, but multi-accounts mine the majority of these tokens. The solution to this problem can be the introduction of verification for players. For example, Foil Network offers to pass on-chain verification in games and confirm your identity.


Editor:
Dmitry Yegorov

Cover and illustrations:
Julia Chistyakova

Рекомендуем почитать

More on the Topic

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Проблемы NFT-игр с элементами блокчейна Skip to content
Баны, отключения серверов и боты. Проблемы NFT-игр

Проблемы NFT-игр: баны, отключения серверов и боты

Игры с моделью Play-to-Earn (играй, чтобы зарабатывать) стали одним из трендов блокчейна в 2021 году. Их пользователи получают награду в виде NFT и криптовалюты за действия на платформе. Игроки считают, что эти игры децентрализованы, потому что связаны с блокчейном, но на самом деле почти вся информация хранится на обычных серверах. 

Из-за централизации и вмешательства разработчиков в игры с NFT пользователи сталкиваются с рядом проблем. К ним относятся отсутствие прав на аккаунты и их блокировка, а также отключение серверов. Рассказываем в материале, почему возникают такие трудности и предлагаем решение от Foil Network по борьбе с ботами.

Особенности игр с элементами блокчейна 

Блокчейн-игры воспринимаются пользователями как децентрализованные платформы. Но чаще всего разработчики используют блокчейн только для проведения транзакций с NFT и обычными токенами. А все игровые данные хранятся централизованно на отдельных серверах. 

В теории, в блокчейн-играх все процессы должны быть децентрализованы и располагаться в блокчейне. Например, там должны храниться данные о всех взаимодействиях пользователей, профили игроков, текстуры, 3D-модели персонажей и предметов. Тогда разработчики смогут управлять играми только с помощью смарт-контрактов, что сделает все процессы прозрачными. 

В большинстве современных блокчейнов такой способ хранения данных будет слишком дорогим или технически невозможным. Например, комиссия в сети сети Ethereum для загрузки файла весом несколько килобайт составит несколько тысяч долларов. А за мегабайт придется заплатить почти $1 млн.

Хранение информации в NFT-играх
Хранение информации и передача данных в играх с элементами блокчейна и в «настоящих» блокчейн-играх

Из-за хранения всей внутриигровой информации на серверах пользователи сталкиваются с проблемами, типичными для централизованных игр. Хранение данных в блокчейне могло бы решить некоторые проблемы благодаря прозрачности смарт-контрактов. Ниже рассказываем о них подробнее.

Отсутствие прав на свои внутриигровые аккаунты. Большинство пользователей при создании профиля считают, что могут распоряжаться им, как захочется. Но все аккаунты являются не собственностью игроков, а лишь идентификатором, с помощью которого человек получает доступ к серверу. А все права на владение профилями принадлежат разработчикам.

Это не означает, что разработчики могут завладеть вашими NFT, ведь они располагаются на блокчейне. Но администрация может в любой момент заблокировать пользователю доступ к аккаунту, с которого выводятся активы — например, за нарушение условий использования игры. Тогда NFT уже нельзя будет вывести с учетной записи игрока. Сервер будет блокировать проведение любых транзакций между аккаунтом и криптовалютным кошельком, даже если он не был привязан к игровому профилю. 

Отключение серверов игры. Иногда разработчики могут временно отключить свои сервера из-за технических неисправностей или для проведения работ по устранению ошибок. В течение этого времени пользователи не могут получить доступ к своим аккаунтам. А если игрок захочет в этот момент вывести NFT на криптовалютный кошелек, то сервер не сможет подтвердить эту транзакцию. Происходит так из-за отключения работы интерфейса, который должен взаимодействовать со смарт-контрактом игры, к которому привязаны активы.

Отсутствие прозрачности игровой механики. Пользователи не видят реальных действий разработчиков и могут только догадываться о том, как настроен баланс игры. Так администрация может скрывать реальную вероятность выпадения внутриигровых предметов. Например, пользователи верят в завышенные шансы, которые написали им разработчики и охотнее рискуют для открытия кейсов с NFT. Игроки не могут проверить эту вероятность, поэтому верят словам администрации и тратят больше денег.

Боты «атакуют» NFT-игры 

Разработчики NFT-проектов также сталкиваются с проблемами централизации. Например, многие NFT-игры заполнены ботами. Они мешают игрокам зарабатывать токены и негативно влияют на их курс. 

Создатели ботов получают постоянную повышенную прибыль. Например, одна такая программа может зарегистрировать 1-2 тыс. игровых профилей. Все они будут считаются мультиаккаунтами, потому что принадлежат одному человеку, а это запрещено в большинстве игр. Но не все разработчики могут отследить и заблокировать такие программы на своих платформах.

Ботам не нужно делать перерывы на сон и еду, отвлекаться на работу и личную жизнь. Из-за этого мультиаккаунты будут постоянно добывать NFT и приносить прибыль своему создателю. А количество токенов, которые получают реальные пользователи, снизится. Так получается из-за того, что смарт-контракт игры создает фиксированное количество NFT и распределяет их между всеми аккаунтами. Из-за ботов количество аккаунтов увеличивается, а токенов — нет.

Новые пользователи приходят в игру, видят низкую скорость заработка токенов в сети и быстро уходят с проекта. А боты будут стабильно приносить прибыль, даже если каждый аккаунт будет добывать минимум NFT. 

Одной из игр, пострадавших от ботов, стала Alien Worlds. Ее разработчики стали искать способы, которые должны помешать работе ботов:

  • Авторы временно приостановили выпадение NFT, пока не придумают, как препятствовать ботам. Эти действия вызвали недовольства обычных игроков, ведь они покупали специальные улучшения для получения токенов. И теперь эти покупки стали бесполезны.
  • Ввели капчи на добычу токенов. Это несложные тесты во всплывающем окне, которые помогают отсеивать ботов от реальных пользователей. Игроки были недовольны тем, что ее приходилось проходить при каждом поиске NFT. При этом боты «научились» обходить капчу. А обычным игрокам пришлось регулярно вводить ее. Судя по сообщениям на форуме, кому-то пришлось вводить капчу всего пару раз в день, а кому-то — каждые 6 минут. 
  • Банили все подозрительные профили до разбирательств. К ним отнесли аккаунты, которые слишком много часов в сутки находились в игре по мнению разработчиков — около 12-ти часов. При этом в правилах на сайте нет пункта с ограничениями по времени. 

Если игрок получил бан, то Alien Worlds об этом никак не уведомляет. Догадаться о блокировке можно только по всплывающему окну с ошибкой или минимальному количеству полученных токенов. Под бан попадали не только боты, но и большое количество реальных игроков. 

Баны игроков Alien Worlds
Оповещения, по которым игроки догадываются о бане аккаунта

Из-за большого количества жалоб администрация открыла отдельную форму для разбирательств с поддержкой. Пользователям приходилось длительное время по переписке доказывать, что они не использовали сторонние программы. Ответа разработчиков многим приходилось ждать сутками, а кто-то его не получил вообще — это означало, что блокировка обжалованию не подлежит.

Все действия разработчиков Alien Worlds приводили только к временному снижению количества ботов в игре. При этом, новые ограничения вызвали еще больше дискомфорта у обычных игроков и только увеличили их недовольство.

Блокчейн WAX тоже столкнулся с проблемами из-за того, что его именно использует игра Alien Worlds. Большое количество ботов перегружает сеть, а также негативно влияет на курс криптовалюты. Поэтому разработчики WAX также приняли меры по борьбе с мультиаккаунтами. Для этого они ввели комиссию за регистрацию новых пользователей в размере 5 WAXP, это примерно 130 рублей. 

После обновления сети боты перестали работать и регистрировать мультиаккаунты. До массовых блокировок аккаунтов Alien Worlds пользователи получали небольшое количество токенов за одно действие — в среднем 0.03-007 TLM. А после обновления их добыча выросла до 1.1-0.5 TLM за раз. 

Заработок игрока в игре Alien Worlds
Заработок игрока за отправку корабля на планету для добычи токенов. До массовой блокировки ботов пользователь получал не больше 0.1 TLM за миссию

Хоть разработчики и ввели обязательную комиссию за регистрацию, это вовсе не означает, что проблема ботов решена. Если прибыль от мультиаккаунтов будет превышать затраты, то скоро появятся новые программы с ботами.

Рекомендуем материал

В нем вы узнаете, как устроен мир карточной игры Alien Worlds. В материале расскажем об игровом процессе и способах заработка начинающему игроку.

Верификация для борьбы с ботами

Одним из решений для борьбы с мультиаккаунтами может стать верификация пользователей. Каждому игроку необходимо будет подтвердить свою личность с использованием документов, согласно политике KYC и AML. 

Регистрация пользователей в NFT-играх
В NFT-играх без верификации аккаунтов пользователи создают ботов, из-за чего сервер переполняется мультиаккаунтами. А на платформах с верификацией игроки обязаны подтвердить личность каждого аккаунта

Например, на платформе Foil Network можно создавать смарт-контракты для блокчейн-игр. А для их использования необходимо пройти обязательную on-chain верификацию. Она никак не принуждает игроков отказаться от анонимности в сети и прекратить пользоваться никнеймами. Все личные данные будут доступны только независимому центру верификации.

Одному пользователю почти невозможно подтвердить личности 1-2 тыс. аккаунтов для запуска ботов. Для этого бы понадобилось добыть и использовать личные данные тысяч реальных людей, что является нарушением законодательства.

Рекомендуем материал

Для тех, кто хочет подробнее узнать про верификацию личности. В материале расскажем, что такое AML и KYC, а также покажем разницу между ними. 

Заключение

Большинство NFT-игр используют блокчейн только для совершения транзакций с токенами и хранения информации о них. А все остальные процессы находятся на серверах, которые принадлежат разработчикам. Из-за этого пользователи сталкиваются со следующими проблемами:

  • Отсутствие прав на свои внутриигровые аккаунты,
  • Отключение серверов проекта,
  • Отсутствие прозрачности игровой механики.

Разработчики проектов тоже сталкиваются с проблемами, одной из которых являются боты. Сеть автоматически распределяет NFT между всеми игроками, но мультиаккаунты добывают большую часть токенов. Решением такой проблемы может стать введение верификации для игроков. Например, Foil Network предлагает проходить on-chain верификацию в играх и подтверждать свою личность. 

Foil Network баннер

Редактор:
Дмитрий Егоров

Обложка и иллюстрации:
Юлия Чистякова

Рекомендуем почитать

Еще почитать по теме

Комментариев пока нет, добавьте свой отзыв ниже.


Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.