5 reasons for gamers not to use the Decentraland metaverse Skip to content
5 reasons why gamers will never come to Decentraland Cover

5 reasons why gamers will never come to Decentraland

All over the world, gamers who are into AAA games hate any publisher’s attempts to implement NFT in games. We decided to find out how they will feel about the Decentraland metaverse.

Christine Graule, a gamer and metaverse explorer, helped us with this. She named 5 reasons why gamers would not be interested in such a metaverse. We present an edited version of the conversation in the article.

Disclaimer

All of the reasons listed below arise from the increased demands of AAA gamers. They buy dedicated gaming PCs and consoles and expect superb performance and realistic graphics from games.

In addition, the plot is very important to them, since the most beautiful games are designed for single player. It is interesting to watch the development of the story and the character in them — this is very important for gamers.

Browser

When someone says “works in the browser” to gamers like me, I immediately imagine games from 2007. It was popular then and now it’s perceived more as something nostalgic. And this is not at all what the gamer expects from the metaverse. 

If someone advised me Decentraland and started by saying that this is a browser game, I wouldn’t listen further. I’d say out of courtesy that I would look, but I wouldn’t do it. Because when I hear the words “browser” I imagine something like this:

2007 browser game screenshot
2007 browser game
2007 browser game screenshot
Another 2007 browser game

I don’t mind remembering my 2007, but it certainly won’t be my permanent occupation. Gamers are accustomed to desktop clients, and if the developers of the metaverse want to attract them, then they should follow the same path as gaming companies.

Graphics

The gamer’s eyes are accustomed to games like The Last Of Us Part II, Red Dead Redemption 2, Death Stranding, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. Decentraland will most likely not be interesting, because the difference in graphics is so strong that it’s not even interesting to start.

The Last of Us: Part II screenshot
The Last of Us Part II gameplay
Red Dead Redemption 2 Screenshot
Red Dead Redemption 2 gameplay
Death Stranding screenshot
Death Stranding gameplay
The Witcher III: Wild Hunt screenshot
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt gameplay

And Decentraland also has a very cartoonish graphic style. It feels like some kind of child’s play. Judging only by the graphic style, if it would have been like The Overwatch — then the chances of gamers liking it would have been higher.

Decentraland screenshot
For AAA gamers, Decentraland’s graphic style is very cartoonish.
The Overwatch screenshot
The Overwatch graphic style

Communication

It’s impossible to convince me and say that Decentraland is great to chat and make friends and acquaintances. This is a mechanic that is generally incomprehensible to me: how much time do I need to spend to find someone? The world is huge. And then it turns out that this someone doesn’t speak my language or will harass me, as in the recent history in Horizon Worlds.

Most gamers are introverts. They quietly play games and chat on Discord. Because it’s comfortable, it’s simple and awesome. In general, I found a lot of friends in Discord. For example, we sometimes call up and watch movies together or discuss something.

Recommended material

We have put together a compilation of 5 interesting places in the Decentraland metaverse for you to make up your own mind about this virtual world. The article contains links.

I don’t need to waste time and run around the huge world to meet and chat with someone. The huge world has shrunk to the size of a chat, and I can make acquaintances very quickly and easily. And this despite the fact that I’m an introvert and it can be difficult for me to get acquainted in life.

I also use Twitch for socializing. For example, I met one streamer there and now we’re friends. We share a common interest in a particular game and we always have something to talk about. And in his chat I met new people.

In short, I don’t need other communication tools, and I won’t change them myself either. And this opinion is shared by most gamers.

Quests

For gamers, all the quests in Decentraland look like a kindergarten. When there is an option to go to Call of Duty and shoot virtual players in excellent quality and without glitches, then why play children’s quests, where there is some kind of gun made from several polygons that is buggy or shoots with god knows what. It’s more of an annoyance than a relief.

The shooter game in Decentraland GIF
Gameplay of the shooter game in Decentraland
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare (2019) screenshot
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare (2019) gameplay

And if someone tells me that I can make a quest in Decentraland and somehow earn money on it, then I’ll send a link to the Itpedia influencer, who really earns. True, he makes money in GTA 5 and makes cool scripts for them. Any gamer can create a server there and do something cool, and the company will pay him for the users. It’s so popular among gamers that they won’t look for something else outside the gaming industry.

Cryptocurrency

And even if all the previous points are changed and improved, most gamers will still be repulsed by the fact that this is somehow related to cryptocurrency and blockchain. Why so?

YOUR BLOCKCHAIN CAN BURN IN HELL!!11

Quote from an unknown gamer

Most gamers don’t like it because there are so-called miners who buy graphics cards on an industrial scale. And from this, the prices for computers as a whole and in the assembly are rising. And gamers need graphics cards. And the situation turns out: because of some unknown people, everything becomes so expensive that it is simply impossible.

GeForce RTX 2060 Super graphic card price chart
The price of the Geforce RTX 2060 Super graphics card has doubled from 2020 to 2022. The price increase was in no way connected with the rise in price of components

Another example is that gamers don’t like NFTs. They don’t like it when game publishers openly try to make more money on users. Gamers find that big game companies like the idea of using NFTs as a way to squeeze more money out of microtransactions. Buying a digital hat for a character is only worth something because of artificial scarcity and bragging rights, and NFT supports both. Well, there is also an opinion that they pollute the environment and are very expensive.

I am neutral towards this technology. But if you take the average gamer, he will hate any publishers’ attempts to introduce NFT into the game. For example, gamers’ hostility to NFTs increased after GSC Game World was about to implement NFTs in S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl, the sequel to the 13-year-old cult hit. Angry reactions from gamers, including vows not to buy the game, convinced GSC to drop their plans. Even though they didn’t admit it themselves.

Conclusion

Together with Christine Graule, we considered 5 reasons why gamers are most likely not to come to the Decentraland metaverse. All of the reasons in order:

  • The Metaverse opens in a browser;
  • The graphics are inferior to the latest AAA games;
  • There are more convenient tools for communication;
  • Quests are scattered across the metaverse and look like child’s play to gamers;
  • Decentraland uses blockchain and cryptocurrency.
Maff Metaverse banner eng

Editor:
Andrei Lapushkin

Cover and illustrations:
Julia Chistyakova

Рекомендуем почитать

More on the Topic

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

5 причин для геймеров не использовать метавселенную Decentraland Skip to content
Геймеры никогда не придут в Decentraland. 5 причин

Геймеры никогда не придут в Decentraland. 5 причин

Во всем мире геймеры, которые увлекаются AAA-играми, хейтят любые попытки компаний внедрить NFT в игры. Мы решили узнать, как они будут относиться к метавселенной Decentraland. 

В этом нам помогла Кристина Грауле — геймер и исследователь метавселенных. Она назвала 5 причин, почему геймерам не будет интересна такая метавселенная. В материале мы приводим отредактированную версию разговора.

Дисклеймер

Все причины, которые перечислены ниже, возникают из-за повышенной требовательности геймеров ААА-игр. Они покупают специальные игровые компьютеры и приставки и ожидают от игр превосходной производительности и реалистичной графики.

Помимо этого им очень важен сюжет, так как самые красивые игры предназначены для одиночной игры. В них интересно наблюдать за развитием истории и персонажа — это очень важно для геймеров.

Браузер

Когда геймерам вроде меня кто-то говорит «работает в браузере», я сразу представляю игры из 2007-го. Тогда это было популярно и сейчас воспринимается скорее как что-то ностальгическое. И это совсем не то, что ожидает геймер от метавселенной. 

Если бы мне кто-то советовал Decentraland и начал с того, что это браузерная игра — я бы дальше не слушала. Сказала бы из вежливости, что посмотрю, но не стала бы этого делать. Потому что от слов «браузерная» я представляю что-то вроде этого:

Браузерная игра образца 2007-го года
Еще одна браузерная игра образца 2007-го года

Я готова вспомнить свой 2007-ой, но это точно не будет моим постоянным занятием. Геймеры привыкли к десктопным клиентам и если разработчки метавселенных хотят привлечь их к себе — то им следует идти тем же путем, что и игровые компании. 

Графика

Глаза геймера привыкли к таким играм, как The Last Of Us 2, Red Dead Redemption 2, Death Stranding, The Witcher 3. Интерес к Decentraland скорее всего не появится, потому что отличие в графике настолько сильное, что даже не интересно начинать. 

Геймплей игры The Last of Us 2
Геймплей игры Red Dead Redemption 2
Геймплей игры Death Stranding
Геймплей игры The Witcher 3

И еще в Decentraland очень мультяшная графика. Ощущение, что какая-то детская игра. Если судить только по графике, то была бы она как в The Overwatch — тогда вероятность понравиться геймерам была бы выше.

Для геймеров ААА-игр графика у Decentraland очень мультяшная
Графика игры The Overwatch

Общение

Меня невозможно убедить и сказать, что в Decentraland классно общаться и заводить друзей и знакомых. Это вообще непонятная для меня механика: сколько мне времени нужно потратить, чтобы кого-то найти. Мир то огромный. А потом еще окажется, что он не говорит на моем языке или будет приставать, как в недавней истории в Horizon Worlds.

Большинство геймеров интроверты. Они тихонечко играют в игры и общаются в Discord. Потому что там удобно, там просто и офигенно. Я вообще много друзей нашла в Discord. Например, мы иногда созваниваемся и смотрим вместе фильмы или что-то обсуждаем.

В игровом чате в Discord ребята договариваются на просмотр фильма «Пила»

Мне не нужно тратить время и бегать по огромному миру, чтобы с кем-то познакомиться и пообщаться. Огромный мир уменьшился до размера чата и я очень быстро и легко могу завести знакомство. И это при том, что я интроверт и мне в жизни бывает сложно знакомиться.

Еще я использую для общения Twitch. Например, я познакомилась там с одним стримером и теперь мы дружим. Нас объединяет общий интерес к определенной игре и нам всегда есть о чем поговорить. А в его чате я познакомилась с новыми людьми. 

Короче, мне не нужно других инструментов общения и сама менять я их тоже не буду. И такое мнение разделяет большинство геймеров.

Рекомендуем

Собрали для вас 5 интересных мест в метавселенной Decentraland, чтобы составить собственное мнение об этом виртуальном мире. В статье подборка со ссылками.

Квесты

Для геймеров все квесты в Decentraland выглядят как детский сад. Когда есть вариант зайти в Call of Duty и пострелять в виртуальных игроков в отличном качестве и без глюков, то зачем играть в детские квесты, где какой-нибудь полигонный пистолетик, который глючит или стреляет непонятно чем. Это скорее еще больше раздражает, чем снимает напряжение.

Геймплей стрелялки в Decentraland
Геймплей игры Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

А если мне кто-то скажет, что я могу сделать квест в Decentraland и на этом как-то зарабатывать, то я скину ссылку на блогера Itpedia, который реально зарабатывает. Правда он зарабатывает в GTA 5 и делает классные сценарии для них. Любой геймер может там создать сервер и сделать что-то прикольное, а компания будет ему платить за пользователей. Это настолько популярно среди геймеров, что искать что-то другое за пределами игровой индустрии они не будут.

Криптовалюта

И даже если все предыдущие пункты изменят и улучшат, больше всего геймеров будет отталкивать то, что это как-то связано с криптовалютой и блокчейном. Почему так?

ДА В АДУ ГОРЕЛ ВАШ БЛОКЧЕЙН!!11

Цитата неизвестного геймера

Большинство геймеров его не любят, потому что есть так называемые майнеры, которые в промышленных масштабах закупают видеокарты. И от этого дорожают компьютеры в целом или сборка под заказ. А геймерам нужны видеокарты. И получается ситуация: из-за каких-то неизвестных людей все настолько дорожает, что просто невозможно. 

Цена на видеокарту Geforce RTX 2060 Super выросла в 2 раза с 2020 по 2022. Рост цены был никак не связан с подорожанием комплектующих

И другой пример — геймеры не любят NFT. Им не нравится, когда издатели игр в открытую пытаются еще больше заработать на пользователях. Геймеры считают, что большим игровым компаниям нравится идея использования NFT, как способа выжать больше денег из микротранзакций. Покупка цифровой шляпы для персонажа чего-то стоит только из-за искусственного дефицита и права на хвастовство, а NFT поддерживает оба этих фактора. Ну и бытует мнение, что они загрязняют окружающую среду и очень дорогие. 

Я к этой технологии отношусь нейтрально. Но если взять среднего геймера — то он будет хейтить любые попытки компаний внедрить NFT в игру. Например, враждебность видеогеймеров к NFT усилилась после того, как GSC Game World собиралась внедрить NFT в STALKER 2: Heart of Chernobyl, продолжение культового хита 13-летней давности. Гневные реакции геймеров, включая клятвы не покупать игру, убедил GSC отказаться от своих планов. Хотя они сами это так и не признали.

Заключение

Вместе с Кристиной Грауле рассмотрели 5 причин, из-за которых геймеры скорее всего не придут в метавселенную Decentraland. Все причины по порядку:

  • Метавселенная открывается в браузере;
  • Графика уступает последним топовым играм;
  • Для общения есть более удобные инструменты;
  • Квесты разбросаны по метавселенной и для геймеров выглядят как детские игрушки;
  • Decentraland использует блокчейн и криптовалюту.

Редактор:
Андрей Лапушкин

Обложка и иллюстрации:
Юлия Чистякова

Рекомендуем почитать

Еще почитать по теме

Комментариев пока нет, добавьте свой отзыв ниже.


Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.